Is Oz all it's cracked up to be?

Wilkiwoo

Hi guys, I'm new to PIO, just stumbled upon it by mistake but boy am I glad I did! Lots of useful advice I could have done with a few months ago!

Anyway I'm just wondering if oz is all its cracked up to be? I've got a life changing decision to make in the coming weeks and would be thankful of any advice!

I've been offered a good job in Brisbane, I've just received my perm res visa through the company and set to go next year! I'm settled in the uk but always looking for my next adventure.

Help me make my decision a little easier, please!

Yey or nay!

• Replies 199
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Go and have your adventure, if you don't like it (or even if you do but decide you want to go home years down the line), you can always come back. If you've got a job to go to, the move won't eat up ALL your money (some, yes, but not all), so not much to lose, and some great experiences to gain.

I agree with Rock Dr. and PB - have your adventure and nothing to lose if you find it's not for you - but as PB says don't be taken in by the TV programmes which are heavily edited (some of our members have appeared on the programmes and will tell you this). The reality of life in Aus is pretty much as it is in the UK, you work you do your shopping and you have a house to clean, however, for some they find something extra that makes their time here even more enjoyable.

You've nothing to lose as you say, youre "always looking for my next adventure. "

I'm confused though, when you say, " I've just received my perm res visa through the company" What do you mean by that? The company applied on your behalf and paid for it? Or is is that they're just sponsoring you for a 457 and then PR?

Oooooh, so many variables. How old you are, your family ties and responsibilties, your trade/profession, all of these will influence your decision and as everyone's situation is different it really is hard to say do it or don't do it...