Where to start? Perth and Perth living.

Jamieliverpool

Hi everyone,

Not sure where to start really. My girlfriend and I have 2 young kids (4 and 9months). I have lived a few places around the world, New Zealand for 18 months(on a 18-30 visa) and then the middle east for a couple of years with work.

Its always been my dream to move our family to New Zealand but my misses has never really fancied moving away until now. We are looking at Perth WA as there seems a lot more jobs available and the housing is cheaper than NZ.

I am a coded Welder and im currently working through a health and safety diploma. My misses is a hairdressing teacher for wella so therefore is qualified in hairdressing and has a teaching degree. We are aged 31 and 29.

Im just wondering how everyone went about the visa application process. Should we be sorting this first or applying for jobs in the hope they will assist our visa application? 

We have found houses in spearwood and beelair that look really nice and seem to be in a more rural setting, which is what we are looking for . Has anyone got any other recommendations for areas suitable for a young family?

The one thing weve noticed in our research is the cost of living increase from here in the UK. Obviously the salaries are better in Oz but im just wondering how people have found this as we don't want to come out and struggle. Although I know everything depends on work and lifestyle.

And finally I feel my misses has finally realised the opportunities for ourselves and our young kids are far better in Oz than here in the UK. The work situation here is getting worse and worse and I genuinely fear for my kids prospects when they are older . This is a massive move for us as it is for everyone who has had the courage to improve the their lives and prospects by moving to Oz. Any advice you can offer us is hugely appreciated.

Im really sorry for waffling on .

Thanks for your time ,

Jamie (Liverpool, UK)

3 hours ago, Jamieliverpool said: