Suicide?

Phoenix16

I know that this is a deep question, but when it's got so low has anyone ever contemplated this? Can you be finanancially secure yet still get them moments when you think about it? Does having children make you think twice about thinking about it? Or can you get so low that nothing can change how you think about it? Is it a mental illness? is it deliberate? Is it momentary loss of thought? Is there really help out there?

As a mental health professional, I can tell you that there is no straight answer to this question, we are all different and the reasons behind suicide are sometimes the most rational, other times (in the vast majority of cases) the complete opposite. However, no matter what the tiggers are or how rational something seems, there is always help available. No problem is so insurmountable or a mood so low that with support things cannot improve. No one should be alone or feel alone if they experience such thoughts. If things that would normally make you feel happy no longer make you feel happy then the likelihood is that depression is to blame. This is a serious mental illness if left untreated and believe me, suicide, no matter who you have around you is devastating in its consequences. I can also assure you that complete strangers, who deal with the aftermath, are always affected too. The world is never better off without you no matter how much your brain thinks it. Depression has a handy knack at twisting the truth until you cannot see whats real any more. Whether you feel this way, someone you know, or this post is just about curiosity, please be assured people can help no matter when these thoughts occur.

• Like 1

I was reading a terrible story in the paper yesterday of a young mum who jumped off a cliff holding her baby killing them both.

It really is upsetting when this sort of thing happens, particularly when they decide to kill someone else and then themself.