How did you afford to go to Oz?

russ and claire

Sorry for being nosy but how did you afford to move to Oz? Did you sell your house, have savings, desperately saving etc...?

Russ is a nurse and although I am an OT tech, once I am back from maternity leave, I have to give my notice in as mother in law has said she no longer wants to help look after the kids, they will be 3yrs and 8mths old when I go back to work so the childcare costs will wipe out my wages, so will join an agency and hopefully will work on the wards but obviously this effects how quick we can get to Oz and whether we can actually afford to do it.

• Replies 87
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Our visa we managed to do mainly from saving although the final part we ended up down grading our car, the rest will come from sale of house and the day after getting our visa i got made redunant after 11 years service so will walk away with about £14k tax free so that was good timing for us. I think it depends on what visa you go for as to what the cost of it wil be. Short of the lotto maybe its time to sell your body lol

Visa costs we covered as we were going along each month (though the medicals nearly wiped us out). House sale has fallen though 3 times and now back in process of being sold again - FiL lent us money for flights and set up costs to be paid back when the house sale completes. Now we've been here 6 months we're fully self sufficient in Oz and is just the UK house dragging us down. May even manage a holiday in 2013?

The only way i can afford to go is due to the package i was offered by a very good company who have given me a job, they have paid for everything , medical, visa app, flight and first two months accommodation, even a hire car, I couldn't of asked for anything more. I have a bit of savings that should help too,