Pregnant while on WHV in australia! Advice needed

Laurencw

Hi, thanks for reading!

I am a british student on a Working Holiday Visa In Australia. I have been with my partner who is Australian and full Australian citizen for 10 months now but we have only lived together for two months and I have just found out I am pregnant two months into my Working Holiday Visa & im stuck on what to do.

I am fully aware that I wont recieve any marernity pay or anything like that, and I have found online that I am able to recieve Medicare pregnancy and birth healthcare due to the Reciprocal health scheme between the Uk and Australia.

I know that with my child I would be allowed to stay until its born and then I would be asked to leave as soon as a baby passport was available. I was just wondering if there is any change to what I have mentioned because the childs father is an Australian Citizen?

Also if an option was to apply for a partner visa, would I be able to apply for a Partner Visa when we have only lived together for two months? As the visa states that you must live together for 12 months?

Any advice/options would be appreciated

Please take advice asap.

The baby will have the right to Australian citizenship as his Father is Australian, whereas you can legally be forced leave the country immediately after the birth.

If the two of you were to break up, then you could potentially be open to all sorts of issues i.e you being forced to leave and the baby staying here. I am also not at all sure if you would receive maternity care whilst on a WHV.

Dependingon what state you live in you can register the relationship which will waive the 12 month requirement.

Please think everything through and whether the more sensible option is to go home and have the baby in the UK.

Please take advice asap.

Please think everything through and whether the more sensible option is to go home and have the baby in the UK.