‘I can’t survive on £500 a week benefits!’

simmo

• Replies 92
  • Created
  • Last Reply

That works out at GBP 3,250 per year per person. That's really not a lot. Yes, this person seems to have made some bad decisions in life - including the use of bus lanes - but she and her family still need essentials to live. As a society, we need to understand, and to a certain extent expect, that some people in socially excluded groups do not make good decisions.

How can she afford a car? I had to take my car home when I was a student in Birmingham. The only decent thing about Brum was the public transport was good.

We can't know the circumstances, but it is possibly a legacy from her ex-partner. Plus, if there are eight of you, using public transport is likely to be expensive and impractical. The point remains, it is difficult to imagine supporting a family on an annual GBP3,250 per person. Benefits are not designed to allow extravagent living and those who have very high income through benefits tend to have very unusual and expensive circumstances. Wishing that people in expensive circumstances were in less expensive circumstances is a fool's errand and capping benefits levels so that they are less than people need will probably be counter-productive.

Maybe shouldnt have had so many kids then!

Isn't hindsight a wonderful and useful skill? But what would you suggest to resolve the present situation?

For extra marks, feel free to offer suggestions as to how you could prevent such a situation arising in the future.

Isn't hindsight a wonderful and useful skill? But what would you suggest to resolve the present situation?

For extra marks, feel free to offer suggestions as to how you could prevent such a situation arising in the future.

Birth control? Do I get a gold star? :tongue:

Birth control? Do I get a gold star? :tongue: