Is Aus$80K/year enough to live on?? Seriously?

rodney

Hello,

I'm a nurse who is looking at emigrating to Australia.

The salary I think i would receive is as title. How does this compare? Is it reasonable, and enough to live on in Perth, Sydney, Melbourne, etc? I will receive an extra Aus$500/fortnight rent allowance as well.

My husband will not be working over there and we will all get PR (along with the 3 kids) through my job.

We don't live an extravagant lifestyle here in the UK and I earn £50K/year and after rent, etc save about £500/month.

I appreciate your help.

rodney

• Replies 112
  • Created
  • Last Reply

So are you the sole earner in the UK, if you earn £50,000 and still manage to save £500 then i would say yes deffo.

What you are quoting is doable, you sound pretty savy with money there so im sure you would be the same here.

As a family of 5 in Perth, we managed on that no probs. Sounds like your not daft enough to just shop wherever, prob dont have a need for designer clothes, willing to go looking for a bargain.

Now over to the doomslayers

Guest JonnyNI

Fifi69 - that is very encouraging. It is just my wife and I at the minute but we are soon to be a family of 4. As I am more than likely going to be the sole earner over there, for the first while anyway, I was thinking that I would need to be earning a minimum of AU$100k, preferably closer to AU$120k.

Decision time is at my doorstep though. I am defo going over in late Feb to validate my visa but if I want to go over and stay I have to hand in my notice tomorrow!!! Don't know what to do!!!!

Jonny

Oooh hard decision. I can only tell you as it has been for us.

All savings used up in getting here, but we had already secured and put down bond on a rental. OH earns $85,000, ive only managed to do a bit of temp work here and there.

Rent $650 pw, for a 4 x 2 with pool in the metro area. Never any major energy bills to speak off not like the whoppers that used to land on our mat in the UK.