What Australian fish tastes like haddock?

Guest elledownunder

Guest elledownunder

I am really missing the taste of haddock and am desperate to find some nice white fish. Also miss fish like plaice and sea bass and not sure if you can get them here? I'm quite new to Australia and really didn't realise the fish would all be different over here! Doh! I have never heard of most of them and have been living of salmon because it is the only one I know!

Also I have noticed in Coles and Woolworths the fish are on ice behind a counter. Are there no packaged fish fillets (like the packets of two fillets of cod/haddock/pollack that you get in Sainsburys back home)? I am looking for the cheaper fish because I'm on a budget!

If someone could give me advice on what the different fish are called and what they taste like (maybe compared to fish you get in the UK) I would really appreciate it. I am in Adelaide if that makes any difference to what fish is around.

Thanks!

I miss good old cod! I have bought lots of different fish since being here and really like whiting which comes crumbed like cod and haddock. It isn't very strong tasting unlike much of the white fish I've tried so far. You can buy it in packets - there is usually a section in both the frozen and fridge areas. Flake is also nice.

Edited by DBC

Sorry fish is different here. Blue Grenadier is nice, Gem Fish is also nice. We buy smoked haddock from South Africa its in packets in Aldi or you can buy similar at Coles. I tend not to buy fresh fish from the supermarket, would go to as fish shop or the market for fresh fish. I buy frozen hoki from New Zealand its ok as well.

You just have to get used to different tasting fish.

My neighbour goes fishing and often gives me a gummy shark, also snapper and flathead.

I do not like Mullett would not recommend. Flathead is ok but has quite a lot of bones.