Visa options, complete beginner

loonicorn966

Hi guys,

completely starting from scratch here. My husband and I along with our kids want to emigrate. We know we don’t qualify for a skilled work visa and apparently a 457 sponsor visa is our best bet. My husband is a building project manager. We have family in Queensland, an aunt and two cousins, I don’t know if this helps? We don’t really know where to start, just putting feelers our, looking for any advice to help us get started on the long road ahead? Thanks in advance.  

If you cannot match an occupation to the list for a 457 or any visa then there is no real pathway unless you are a business owner maybe.

Also age is a factor, the cut off is now 45 for all skilled visas.  A 457 is a temporary visa and no longer has a clear pathway to PR or renewal.  IF you qualify for a 457 then unless you also qualify for a PR visa then you won’t be staying.

The occupation lists do change though so you never know.  Also do not get hung up on job titles look at the actual duties, it may be that he can apply under a different job title if he can prove he matches the criteria.

If you cannot match an occupation to the list for a 457 or any visa then there is no real pathway unless you are a business owner maybe.
Also age is a factor, the cut off is now 45 for all skilled visas.  A 457 is a temporary visa and no longer has a clear pathway to PR or renewal.  IF you qualify for a 457 then unless you also qualify for a PR visa then you won’t be staying.
The occupation lists do change though so you never know.  Also do not get hung up on job titles look at the actual duties, it may be that he can apply under a different job title if he can prove he matches the criteria.

Haven't they stopped the 457?