Moving to the UK - sell or rent AUS house?

Lammie

After 20 years we've decided to return to the UK for what's likely to be a few years to support my father, who's just turned 83 and on his own. He's bright as a button mentally but struggling physically, and has just hung up his car keys. Not sure how much longer he'll be around to be honest, and I just want to be there for him at the end. My husband's on board as we always agreed we'd do it if the need arose, and he's a bit of a boffin who loves UK and European history. His parents in Brisbane are much younger and in good health so fortunately that isn't an issue, and the plan is to return to Australia once my dad is no longer with us. My husband is a lecturer and I'm a nurse, so we don't foresee any work issues once he's got his partner visa. Our son finished uni a couple of years ago and has a good job in Melbourne, a girlfriend, and is making a life for himself down there. He's also supportive of the move and is looking forward to visiting us once we're settled.