457 visa without sponsorship....how feasible?

Willie G

Hi Folks,

Not been on here for a good while, would like to move across next year all being well, lookin at Perth,Melbourne but tbh would consider nearly anywhere....

I'm a HGV Class 2 driver, also have a Counter Balance Forklift licence, well aware that these positions arent on the skilled list, so I'm wondering how feasible would it be to come across on what looks like it would be the 457 Visa Off my own back as I doubt I would get sponsorship...?

Just lookin for some advice from those in the know......Cheerz

In order to be sponsored, your occupation still has to be on 'a' list. Such as a Skilled Occupations List for a 189 Skilled Independent Visa or the Consolidated List for State and Employer sponsorships.

Correct me if I am wrong...

Thanks......so I would have to get a 457 visa off my own back n go across and look for work....seems to be loads of jobs over there,have money saved up to survive as well...

I see the bus companies are still lookin for people to train up an become driver, that's a good option,would be keen on that

A bit of confusion ...you must have a sponsor for a 457 visa in order to get th visa in the first place. A 189 needs no sponsor but the list of professions is both different and smaller and are more likely to be professions with university qualifications or trade certificates needed.

wondering how feasible would it be to come across on what looks like it would be the 457 Visa Off my own back as I doubt I would get sponsorship...?

[/quoTE]

Not possible, you can't get a 457 visa without a sponsor. The whole point of a 457 visa is to let Australian employers hire foreign workers to fill temporary vacancies.

I've actually got tickets for Down Under Live at the SECC in Oct so hopefully they should be able to give me a bit more info as well.....