Looking to make the move - where do I start?

MartynAndSam

My wife and I have been talking for a while now about making the move from the UK to Melbourne. I’m an electrician and have been for 15 years now. Currently the QS at my company, basically the one with responsibility for all jobs done, signing them off, quality checks etc. 

I see that electricians are in the shortage category for occupations and hopefully this works to my advantage. Will I be better looking for a sponsored visa or just contact various companies about applying for jobs and then sorting the visa out separately myself?

If I did manage to get a sponsored visa, are my wife and children included in this or does my wife have to apply for a separate visa?

Thanks.

Yes, if you can get a sponsored visa, then your wife and kids are included.   

There is a catch, though.  Most sponsored visas are 482 visas.  They're just a temporary work contract, for 2 to 4 years and then you go home.  Employers will tell you that after you've completed that contract, you can transfer to a permanent visa and stay in Australia, but that's a con job.  It's more accurate to say that there is a possibility that you might be able to apply for a permanent visa towards the end of your contract -- and an awful lot of people don't succeed.  If you were single then I'd say, what have you got to lose?  But when you've got a family, it costs a fortune to move halfway across the world and back again, so it's  not worth it unless feel like an adventure and can afford to splash your savings on it.

There is an employer-sponsored visa that gives you a permanent visa.  That's a 186.  If you can get one of those, grab it.  You need to find an employer who's willing to offer it though, and that's not easy.