NSW Recommendations on places to live!

scubacam

My OH, 2 kids and I are emigrating imminently, just waiting for house to exchange and complete!!!

To begin with we will be a single income family as I will be settling the kids. My OH is a mechanical project manager so hopefully will find work. And I’m a special needs teacher when I return to work.

We will be initially renting a Airbnb in Sydney’s northern beaches as we have spent a lot of time there during our previous visits and really like the vibe, amenities, eateries, shops and accessibility to beaches and Sydney.

We are very much aware this is a costly place to live (especially on a single income) and was wondering if anyone had any recommendations of places that have a similar vibe, eateries, schools, amenities with good job prospects and a more affordable cost of renting on one salary?

We visited Newcastle before, but unfortunately very briefly before we had to fly back to the UK. So only got to see a glimpse. But have heard a number of people talk about it.

Any help much appreciated.

• 3 months later...
Wollongong! Such a great lifestyle and many people commute to sydney for work. In the northern suburbs look at thirroul, bulli, woonona and in the south look at shellharbour, shell cove, kiama and gerringong. 

Really?? I heard bad things about drugs and crime ?
  • Like 1

1 hour ago, scubacam said:

Name a city anywhere in the world that does NOT have drugs and crime.  I would also recommend the Illawarra coast and hinterland. Its largely a coastal green belt, with beaches, quaint villages and a particulalrly good university. We were down there recently visiting the Jamberoo Valley and Minnamurra Rainforest.

The Wollongong town centre often gets a bad wrap but Sydney money has moved in over the years and the place is definitely on the improve.