491/489 Job Prospects

KBeale

Hi folks,

I’m looking to relocate to NSW on a 491 visa. I was wondering if anyone has any experience finding jobs on a 489/491 regional skilled provisional visa?

I ask because I currently hold a 476 Recognised Graduate visa valid for 18 months, but employers don’t want to know because it’s temporary. I’m worried that, since the 491 is technically ‘temporary’ (5 years and there is a clear and defined pathway to PR) I’ll be wasting $4k for the same results!

For a bit of background, I’m a recent chemical engineering grad working in refining in the UK but hoping to move over to Aus and get into the water treatment business. I’ve been trying for 3 months now to get something on my 476 visa but it’s not looking likely!

Does anyone have any experience that they can share?

All the best,

Kai

The 491 is brand new, so no one has experience of that yet.

I think the 489/491 is a bit different because it's provisional, not temporary (i.e. there's a sure path to PR if you meet the criteria, rather than just a possibility). So that should give employers more comfort in theory - though I suspect some employers will be poorly informed. .    Anyway if you're settling in a regional area, not in one of the big cities, employers find it hard to recruit so they're likely to be keen to hire you.  

It's very difficult getting a job in Australia from overseas regardless of what visa you hold.  

Even a 491 visa is unfortunately not easy to obtain for engineers, how would you go about getting this visa?  I have tried for over a year to obtain a 489/190/189 visa, but immigration requirements keep getting tougher. If you can get a 491 visa, then I don't think you will have a problem finding a job (does not need to be in your field), especially considering you are currently working in the UK in your field.