please help!!

jkm10

Hi, im a nurse, and have been working over in oz for nearly 6months. today I made a really stupid mistake and made a medication error, the patient was absolutely fine, and it was recognised and dealt with quickly. I had a chat with my manager about this incident, and she kept reminding me that I was still on my 6month probationary period, which is up next week. she didn't say it out loud but I could tell she was implying that there is a chance I could loose my job, as I am still on probation. apparently she is going to speak to her boss and HR and discuss what is going to happen (doesn't sound good). I can't believe I could potentially loose my job over a minor medication error. I'm only on a sponsorship visa (457) so if I loose my sponsor I loose my visa. help, I don't know what to do. If the worst does happen, how long do I get to find a new sponsor before I have to leave the country? I am also a children's nurse, therefore I can obviously only work in certain places. the current manager was not the one who offered me the job, but she took over before I started. I'm just so scared, I have given up my permanent job in UK and spent a lot of money to get over here. please help!

• Replies 72
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Don't panic! (Easier said than done) we all make mistakes and it's how you deal and learn from them in my opinion that's important... Don't assume anything, ask for a chat with your manager and express your regret and concern if you want to, explain how you feel and ask if the error really is the end, deal with fact not conjecture as it will be easier and better for you to deal in reality not fear... Bear in mind you have 5 months, 3 weeks perfect service track record also, stay strong, be true to yourself and you'll be okay, good luck and I hope it's viewed as a learning opportunity by all involved.

We all make mistakes, ok it's worse for you than me, I'm only shuffling papers.