Teaching in Australia

Pip87

Hi all, 

I’m a little confused with the teaching requirements in Australia and would love some clarity! 

So here in the U.K., I work as a special educational needs and disabilities Teacher.  I have a 3 year BA Hons in Early Years and Education Studies, which I followed with Schools Direct Teacher training and then I’ve also got a MEd in Autism (children). 

From what I have researched, Australia do not accept the Schools Direct training. But some people have informed me that they do accept a masters degree in its place? Others have told me they don’t unless it’s more teaching specific. 

So, how do I know if my masters degree is considered valid for teaching? My masters is in autism so not teaching specific so I’m a bit unsure of whether this degree will allow me to be considered as qualified as a teacher in Australia. Can anyone please direct me for further information? 

Hoping to teach in Melbourne or Perth as I know it varies from state to state too just to add to my confusion! 

Thank you in advance for any help! 

I'd do as Quoll has suggested first, and if you draw a blank then look into doing a PGCE. I believe you can still get funding (including a bursary in some situations) even if you have already completed a Masters degree. I'm guessing from you username you're 36, so you've still got time on your side.

• Like 1

18 hours ago, Quoll said:

Not unless your masters includes the pre-requisite number of supervised teaching days under the auspices of a University. You could always submit your qualifications for assessment and see what they say though. 

Thank you for your reply- No my masters didn’t include supervised teaching.It was  specific to autism and therefore not focused towards teaching itself.