Thoughts?

Hi guys, 

so I’m a qualified carpenter from the uk, making progress with the EOI now. It’s looking like I’ll only have enough points for the 190 visa which limits me to NSW or SA.

Trouble is I had my heart set on Brisbane and have always said I don’t fancy living in Sydney as it’s too expensive and too much of a rat race type lifestyle? 

Is Sydney really that bad? Is there any suburbs where you can have the best of both worlds with the laidback lifestyle but still accessible to work? 

Is there any way around the state nomination? What would stop me from going state nomination but going uk to Brisbane instead? 

Sorry for all the questions, all help is appreciated greatly.

cheers

NSW is a bloody big state, it's not just Sydney so perhaps you might need to adjust your thinking. You could be up very close to Qld if you can find work, if that's the kind of climate you're after. Or you could go inland to places like Wagga, Dubbo, Tamworth or down to Albury. There's a lot of scope there and most of NSW is not big city suburbia. Think outside the capital cities. But I'm not sure there is anywhere with the "laid back lifestyle" - work is work and Aussies work long hours with fewer holidays and generally longer commutes.

Edited by Quoll

First, Sydney isn't the only place in NSW. 

If the laid back lifestyle is what you want, be very sure it exists. I wouldn't say Oz is a laid back lifestyle more than anywhere else. Far from it given that on general people work more. 

Regarding getting NSW sponsorship and going to Brisbane, I would not recommend as states are now clamping down on this and they have the ability to claim visa fraud to the department which can result in visas being cancelled. 

Firstly I do realise NSW Isn’t just Sydney but was assuming this is where I’ll find work.