Proof of high English rather than IELTS for 189

Smithjed

Hi all,

I am a vet in Aus currently trying to express interest for the 189 and when I finished my points test I ended up with 55 and need the 60. i think the only way I can get the extra points is by doing the english test. I studied a 5 year degree in England but yet still need to do the test to prove that I have profcient english?? Is there any way of getting the points without carrying out the test??

Any help accepted :)

It is ridiculous that having been educated in England up to the point of finishing a veterinary degree you still have to take part in an English exam :( it is expensive and means I have to wait another month or so before I can even enter my expression of interest. Hard fitting in a test sitting when you are also working weekends grr

If you can provide documentary evidence of having been to school in a country where English is the language, then you can be exempted - at least that is the way it used to be for the 457 visa. And no ... X University Medical School does not count as a school.

If you can provide documentary evidence of having been to school in a country where English is the language, then you can be exempted - at least that is the way it used to be for the 457 visa. And no ... X University Medical School does not count as a school.

Evidence of schooling in English doesn't apply to the primary applicant for a 189 visa. It MUST be through one of the DIBP-approved tests.

It is ridiculous that having been educated in England up to the point of finishing a veterinary degree you still have to take part in an English exam :( it is expensive and means I have to wait another month or so before I can even enter my expression of interest. Hard fitting in a test sitting when you are also working weekends grr