Can't get a teaching job!!!!

Tibby

Hi all. After a few months of settling in etc, I am now looking for my first teaching post in and around the suburbs of Melbs. I have 15 years experience including 2 as Head of Faculty in the UK and have full VIT registration, but I can't get work! CRT is my last chance and I'm with Tradewind for that, but I really want a full time position, even if it is only a year's contract.

Has anyone else struggled to get a job? I've applied for about 15 and had 3 interviews, two of which went well but I was pipped to the post. The others have never got back to me. It's getting a bit stressful now! :arghh:

Thanks,

Michelle

I have an Australian colleague in a similar position, been trying to get a permanent post for a year or so now... he's been stuck on the emergency teacher rotation since qualifying. In between teaching jobs he works security to keep the income levels up.

Have you considered as a temporary measure training up the Child Care cert? I know its not teaching but it is working with kids and the predictions are there's going to be a major shortage of trained child care workers over the next couple of years. Better than nothing anyway.

Have you looked at private schools. Also depends what you teach, humanities no shortage, maths science possibly more jobs. I have posted many times that there are no jobs where people want to live, its the same all over the world, desirable means less, undesirable means more.

Also you may be too expensive as graduates are now coming looking for placement for next year. As the schools run budgets they often take teachers with less experience as they are on lower salaries.

To get a permanent position which means you would be employed by the education department you need to head out into the mulga and teach for a few years. My son did that and now he has a permanent position. Also get a bonus for teaching in the bush.