ACS Skills and Education

danievh

I really hope someone can help me.

I've finally got my ACS letter back and was very happy so have been successful, however I noticed that the work experience and the the education are completely separate on the new points system. I'm not sure which of these the ACS qualification pertains to.

As far as I can tell, based on the ACS they recognised 5 of my 8 years experience and put in Group A as a Developer/Programmer. So I assume this gives me 10 points under Overseas and Australian Skilled Employment.

However the ACS letter says nothing to indicate my degree that was submitted with the application is Australian equivalent standard. I do have a Bsc Bachelors degree in IT which was part of my ACS application.

Does this mean my degree is equivalent or not? And if not, who do I need to approach to get this verified?

Any helpful hints would be fantastic!!!

Hi Danievh,

I had a similar sort of dilemma when I had my ACS done. I have been working in IT for 11 years but the ACS comfirmation showed I only have 5 as a Developer Programmer as a previous role was more support, spoke to my agent and they advised that DIAC dont look at the experience on the ACS letter for how many years you have been working. They look at the evidence you provide from your employer(s)

Also, when you log your application with DIAC you will need to upload copies of your degree certificate and transcript, I assume they verify it at that stage for Australian equivalent standard..

Hope that helps

Guest NeilEB

I don't think ACS are in a position to verify your degree - they are there to see if you meet the experience in your chosen field.

Where's your degree from and what is it? A BSc or a BA from a British uni will be fine I'm sure.

I don't think ACS are in a position to verify your degree - they are there to see if you meet the experience in your chosen field.