190 visa as freelance interpreter/translator

I’ve had a look around various parts of this forum to try and find an answer but all the threads about it seem to have been from a few years ago so I’m not sure how up-to-date they are, so sorry if you’re reading this and it’s already been answered.

Anyway, I’m a freelance translator and interpreter keen to emigrate with my family (spouse and two children). I have run my own business as a sole trader for 7/8 years and see from the 190 skills list that interpreter is on there. Most of my work is in translation but I’ve taken on interpreting jobs in my freelance career, and it was the subject of my first degree. It seems I need to have my credentials approved by the NAATI, but haven’t been able to get very far in gaining their assistance, perhaps because, as stated on their website, their offices are closed due to the pandemic.

From what I’ve seen of the application process it looks like I’d have to be nominated by an individual state. What isn’t clear is if I have to seek a post to gain the visa or whether I can emigrate on the 190 with my sole trader business. Is anybody able to steer me in a useful direction? All help appreciated!

As a secondary question, I’m also finding it difficult to work out what, if any, school fees I’d have to pay for my kids (I’d be seeking to put them into the state system). From my research it seems the level of fees in schools is set by the state government, but the only government website page I can find about whether dependant children of visa holders have to pay seems to relate to children of students. Again, any help appreciated.

Thanks. I contacted one in London late last week and am currently awaiting a reply. I realise mine is a pretty niche query but a friend now living in VIC recommended this place as a mine of useful information before she emigrated so thought I’d give it a go.

54 minutes ago, aghill77 said: