Got my nurses reg from AHPRA - here's some help if you need it x

Flumper

What a total nightmare that was! I applied in March and it has been driving me mental ever since!!! :arghh:I finally got my registration on friday! :biggrin:I'm so happy as I love nursing and Australia. I'm just waiting for my visa now. Hope I get it as I'm already in Oz. :twitcy:

My advice would be....apply asap because it takes 6 months if you're lucky, well mine took a tad longer as my 1st application was never received. Also with your application if you are English you don't need to do the ielts exam, you just need a letter from your secondary school (on headed paper, dated and signed) stating that you were taught and assessed in English. Also your uni transcript must include how many hours in practice and theory you did in surgical, medical, community, mental health, elderly, child and midwifery if you did those. I'm an adult nurse so I didn't practice midwifery and child, just so you don't stress and think you need to. If you have been offered a job before getting your Australian nurses reg (like me), get a letter from your future employer with the job offer and start date and send to AHPRA (will need to be the orginal not a photocopy...you will also need a copy for your visa so either get 2 from your empolyers or visit AHPRA with your copy if you are already in Oz-hope that makes sense), this will prioritise your application. If it is prioritized it only takes 4 to 6 weeks! (with I knew this!) Make sure you get a notary to sign all the photocopies of your certificates, passports ect. Telephone your application assessor on a regular basis if you don't hear anything. I hope that will help someone.