Oz more expensive?? Depends on your occupation.

Goochie

Right then, having seen many many threads here recently where people are saying just how expensive Australia is, I've created a spreadsheet listing all of the costs of living in the UK and Australia in order to see what the answer is.

I really am gob smacked by it! :wacko:

If you have a look at my spreadsheet http://www.philgooch.com/Australia/costs2.xls and play around with some numbers, you'll see that putting in average salaries equates to pretty much the same percentage spend each month.

However, I'm a mechanical designer and here in England you can ask pretty much any similar person and they'll tell you how under-valued and under-paid they feel.

A quick look on the Australian job sites reveals the average pay for a similar role in the UK is dramatically different.

For example:

If we consider a degree qualified mechanical designer with 7 years experience. In the UK, he could earn around £30,000. However, in Australia, the same person could get $100,000

Those numbers equate to a UK spend of 82% and an Aussie spend of 61% each month. (Based on renting a similarly sized property)

So dont listen to all the doom and gloom on here - Work out how the cost of livingwill effect YOU.

Guest The Ropey HOFF

Theres so many factors to take into account over the cost of living in Australia, but the simple fact is, if you can get a better paid job when you got there than you had in the uk, you should be ok and have a good standard of living, the wages you quote above would make you alot better off, but not everyone can manage to get this much better wage. I found Australia to be slightly dearer than the uk, but not that much to fret about.

Guest chris955

There are just too many variables, just read a few threads and you will hear that some earn more, some earn less and some earn about the same. It depends on occupation (as you say), location and various other factors.

Guest famousfive