North or South or the river....whats best?!

laurab1987

Hi there,

Me and my family are going to Perth in March 2011 for 6 weeks to check it out and make sure its somewhere we want to live before we apply for our visas. I have heard a lot of things about different suburbs north and south of the river and the general consensus if that north is full of English and some of them are not that desirable......this is obviously not what we want as that's one of the reasons why we want to move from England. We live near London at the mo and would like a quiet life in Oz for our family, we have a young son who is only 5 months at the mo and plan to have a couple more children eventually. Can anyone recommend any nice suburbs not to far in the sticks but where therer are nice family people and good schools? We have a friend who lives in Fremantle but think we would like somewhere quieter than this. Also what are the commutes like in to the city? I am an accountant and im hoping I will get a job outside of Perth but if not I will need to commute!

Any help would be much appreciated :confused:

Hiya,

We did a reccie to perth just over a year ago, it was fantastic. We had heard there were many ex brits in Northern suburbs but to be honest all we found were like minded, and although brits, they are enjoying and embracing the aussie lifestyle!

SOR was amazing, seems there is alot more space, and we loved it there too. I'd say from our experience its an easier commute to the city from NOR. But we did only stay 2 weeks and we stayed in Duncraig. So i suppose we cant really comment about SOR too much.

We'd love to stay in touch and hear how your reccie went. We are hoping to get visa through in early 2011 and make the move in August. Would love to stay in touch and hear all about your reccie and future plans! Am quite confident you will love it!!

Also, my OH is an accountant hoping to work in the city!!

Michelle xx