Recognition of 3 year teaching degree

Guest martinibops

Guest martinibops

Has anyone had any luck getting their 3 year teaching degree recognised? I have a BA (Hons) Professional Studies in Primary Education with QTS which is classed as a three year degree although it has the same content as a 4 year degree. The whole degree is in primary education and a requirement of undertaking it was that you already had two years experience of working in a primary school as a TA. Teaching Australia have said if I can prove it has same content they will consider (I'm not sure it will be as easy as this! and this they will still say no) Most universities in the UK now offer this type of degree and it's quite frustrating that although I now work as a qualified teacher in the UK that I will not be able to in Australia. Any help/advice will be appreciated. We cannot get into Australia any other way as my husbands trade (Asphalt Supervisor) is not recognised on trade list, I have an Auntie who would also be willing to sponsor me but if my degree cannot be recognised is that our hopes of emigrating to Australia dashed!:unsure::arghh:

Guest martinibops

My uni are in the process of compiling something for me, I just wondered if anyone has had any luck getting theirs approved. I have only heard of one case so far so I don't hold out much hope!:wacko:

• 1 month later...
Guest christa

I am new to this forum and picked up on this thread.

Like Martinbops I also have a BA (Hons) in Primary Education with QTS which is classed as a three year degree although it has the same content as a 4 year degree. I have 10 years experience in teaching and I am currently a member of the senior management team at my school. I supervise a team of about 30 teachers and staff, and oversee the needs of 296 children. I have passed a Diploma in Welsh Language from the University of Wales and I have also passed a Leadership and Management Course.