What are my visa options?

AussieInPommyLand

Hi, 

This is my first time posting.

I'm an Australian citizen living in the UK. I've been here since 2000, and have been married to a British citizen for ~16 years and have a 12 year old child (with dual nationality). We would like to live in Australia for 2 years, and I was wondering if anyone had any advice on what visa might be an option for my wife. We're in our 40's, and my wife doesn't need to work.

From what I have read, it looks like the Partner Subclass 309/100 is the obvious choice but is possibly overkill (very expensive, and potentially need to stay longer than 2 years to wait for the permanent part). The Visitor Visa Subclass 600 (Tourist, or Sponsored Family stream) looks like it's generally only 3 months, with a maximum of 12 months and no renewal. The ETA Subclass 601 is only up to 3 months at a time, and a maximum 12 months.

Would any other visa, or combination of visas,  allow us to stay for 2 years?

If you've been married that long and have a child you should get the permanent part straight up I would have thought (vague recollections of that being the case). Have you got your British citizenship already? If not, that should be a priority. 

• Like 2

10 hours ago, Quoll said:

If you've been married that long and have a child you should get the permanent part straight up I would have thought (vague recollections of that being the case). Have you got your British citizenship already? If not, that should be a priority. 

Thanks. I had heard anecdotally she might get permanent within hours/days in cases like mine. Here's hoping...

I do already have my British citizenship.

11 hours ago, Marisawright said:

No, those are your options

Thanks. 

8 hours ago, wrussell said:

You have been misinformed!