Grammar equivalent or high academic achieving schools

Toni2

Hi there I am , after a long time weighing it up, want to move to burleigh heads. I am a nurse and have three kids aged 12.9.7.  My 12 year old is in a grammar school here and is very academic. Please can anyone give me some info on schools. She is currently in an all girls school here in the uk

The only schools here that fit your description (Grammar equivalent or high academic achieving schools) are selective high schools.  There are approximately 40 of them in NSW.  Selective high schools cater for academically gifted students with high potential who may otherwise be without sufficient classmates of their own academic standard.  I don't know about Qld.

• Thanks 1

There are some selective free high schools in Qld but I only know of ones in Brisbane.  I have not heard of any on the Gold Coast.  Hopefully someone from the Goldie can advise one way or the other.  My kids have all gone to a local State High School and it ran extension English, Maths, Science for the brighter students and also an academic achievement program.  If you want a school on the Gold Coast that selects by ability you'll probably have to pay for it unless your child is bright enough to obtain a scholarship.  I'm also not aware of any state schools that are single sex.  Personally I don't agree with single sex private schools as, certainly here in Qld, it creates old boy networks that locks poorer men and all women out of the better jobs....

Edited by Loopylu

On 22/05/2020 at 03:55, Loopylu said: