Visa questions

alexl1993

Hey guys, looking at moving to Australia (hopefully sydney) around dec-january time, i currently work as an assistant General manager at a bar in London, im looking for more information on sponsorship jobs that would allow me to stay indefinitely? How do they work, should i be applying for them before i move or while I'm there on a work visa? and how long does it take roughly. thanks!

Are you a young person thinking of coming on a working holiday visa? That is what it says on the tin - work, holiday, go home. If you haven't got a skill that's in the list (and it would be hard to imagine that assistant bar manager would be on there) then your best bet in the longer run would be to look towards getting a skill that's in demand. For sponsorship an employer has to prove that they can't find local talent to do the job and they have to be able to demonstrate that they've really tried.  I don't fancy your chances of staying indefinitely - one year if you don't do your regional work and 2 years if you do, then you go home. Remember too that on the WHV you can only work for one employer for 6 months.

19 minutes ago, Quoll said:

Are you a young person thinking of coming on a working holiday visa? That is what it says on the tin - work, holiday, go home. If you haven't got a skill that's in the list (and it would be hard to imagine that assistant bar manager would be on there) then your best bet in the longer run would be to look towards getting a skill that's in demand. For sponsorship an employer has to prove that they can't find local talent to do the job and they have to be able to demonstrate that they've really tried.  I don't fancy your chances of staying indefinitely - one year if you don't do your regional work and 2 years if you do, then you go home. Remember too that on the WHV you can only work for one employer for 6 months.