Escaping a Tenancy Agreement so we can return to UK

Big Redd

Hi, I am very new to this but i'm seeking advise regards breaking the lease on my tenancy agreement from what I've read so far you guys seem to have the knowledge and experience.

We came to Darwin back in September 2015, we are struggling to support ourselves financially so have decided to return to the UK. Our lease ends the beginning of November 2016, I've read of the agreement its got a long list

of penalties! Are there any ways around these? What have others done? Can we still be chased for these once we have gone?

Thanks in advance! :)

Guest The Pom Queen

Hi @Big Redd

You can apply for a termination based on hardship have a look at consumer affairs http://www.consumeraffairs.nt.gov.au/ForConsumers/ResidentialTenencies/Documents/breaking_tenancy_lease_early_factsheet.pdf

What I would suggest is contact the agent explain your circumstances, give them a date you will be leaving and explain you have been in touch with consumer affairs and they say you have grounds to end under the hardship provision. Then apply to NCAT.

Alternatively, if you aren't ever coming back to Australia you could walk away, or you could try and find another tenant. Personally I would be going for the hardship route.

I think you would be liable for readvertisement costs as well as the actual rent until a new tenant is found, or november, whichever comes sooner.

If you have the proof, id go the hardship route too, but id talk to the landlord first before going to NCAT, i would think an owner would be happier to see you go without fuss rather than it costing them through legal costs, so they can get on and get a new tenant in.

Or you can hand the keys in at the end of the paid up month and walk onto a plane the next day. Youd lose your bond though. And probably get your name on some lists which could cause issues if you ever came back.