had sufficient points, was invited to carry on, then told i dobt have enough by a case officer

mel73

Hi all, I'm applying for the 489 sponsored visa. I scored 65 points and was told to progress further, which I did. Yesterday I received an email from my case officer saying he could only find 60 points. I find this unfair as so far I have spent lots of money on the initial payment plus medicals. Has anyone else had a similar situation. I don't know what to do to find more points, or where I've since been deducted them. Anyone's help would be appreciated.

It seems that many people have ticked that they have an Australian qualification, when they don't. It isn't worded wonderfully. Have a look through where your points came from, could you have done that?

Is it not possible for someone to get RPL from an Accredited Australian Educational Institution? I used to work in the industry and it isn't difficult as long as you can match the modules/units via descriptors.

Hi all, I'm applying for the 489 sponsored visa. I scored 65 points and was told to progress further, which I did. Yesterday I received an email from my case officer saying he could only find 60 points. I find this unfair as so far I have spent lots of money on the initial payment plus medicals. Has anyone else had a similar situation. I don't know what to do to find more points, or where I've since been deducted them. Anyone's help would be appreciated.

And therein lies the risk of overclaiming your points on the EoI.

Its not an issue of fairness - the migration legislation leaves the DIAC case officer with no choice if your claimed points in the EoI are overstated, as has been discussed at length on this forum in the past: a sticky post discussing this issue was on this forum for several weeks.