Realistic cost of living in Perth

noelle25

Hi everyone,

I'm looking some info on realistic cost of living in perth.

My husband & son (with another on the way) are looking to immigrate next year. My husband is a theatre technician & I am a nurse but I would be looking to settle the kids before getting work. My husband seems to be able to get work quite easily earning approx 65,000 dollars. We would have the sale of our house hopefully to eventually buy a house but would rent initially.

So my question is would we be able to live on my husbands salary comfortably and how much would we be looking to pay to rent a house & then to buy?

is the cost of living the same as the UK or a lot higher?

Noelle....

I'm going through the same dilemma at the moment, and am working out the minimum we could afford to live on.. some say $70k, some $100k, some $150k... I'm ignoring all that...

At the end of the day, it is all relative... what is your income in Oz and how much will it cost to live in Oz... I don't think you can compare to UK salary or cost of living.... it's not realistic to think of it in those terms...

What sort of lifestyle do you want...??? How much will the things you want to do cost in Oz after you've bought food, paid rent, bills etc....

The following sites are helping me to build up a picture of what my income is likely to be, what the associated costs are and what I can claim from the state on a PR visa (Family Tax Benefit, being the only one it appears you can claim in the first two years, a benefit that includes rent supplement)...

https://www.moneysmart.gov.au/ ...... I use this to look at my overall projected budget...

http://www.aussiemove.com/costofliving/ .... a rough idea of costs

http://www.paycalculator.com.au ... calculate your take home pay

http://www.humanservices.gov.au/customer/enablers/online-estimators .... get an estimate of what FTB you will be entitled to....