HELP NEEDED!!! Teacher in the UK - struggling with profession criteria.

Guest siforestiero

Guest siforestiero

Hi everyone.

Myself and my wife are desperate to emigrate to Oz from the UK. She is a Mental Health Nursing Assistant and I am a secondary school teacher. As far as we're aware, my wife's profession doesn't come up on the skilled profession list, but mine does. I did a pre-visa points check which came up ok to get a 3 year state-sponsored working visa.

"Great" we thought, until the AITSL- who decide what qualifications you need to make it possible for you to teach in Oz - have decided that my Teacher Training Quals aren't acceptable for me for migration purposes to teach there..... GUTTED :(

I've been emailing everyone I can think of - State Depts of Education / British Council etc, but as yet not making much progress.

So... was wondering, what other options do you think we have got?

- Do you think I could use my (old) Architecture qualifications as a way in? (trouble is, although I gained a degree, a postgrad and a Masters in architecture, I didn't qualify as a fully-fledged architect and went into DJing straight after uni , so dont have any experience in an architect's practice)

- Or how does it work if I get a job before I go out? Do I still need to satisfy the immigration/ AITSL to get in as a teacher if I already have been offered a job?

Any thoughts gratefully appreciated.

Thanks so much,

Simon & Nicola

====================================================

I do not think you could use your Architect qual because you would then fail the visa requirement for recent work experience.

I got passed on my hairdressing quals by a dozen case officer when I was applying on my childcare quals, I would not have got a visa under hairdressing because I had not worked as one for 10 years!!

Speak to an Agent, you can usually get a preliminary phone call for free, but even if it costs it would be worth getting professional advise.

Good luck! ;0)