Help! I’m a PhD graduate from Oz uni with no foreseeable visa options!!

Guest Snipe

Hi, I’ve completed a PhD from a top Australian university. I was invited to Australia with an international scholarship to cover my tuition fees and stipend. For this I was on a student visa, and my occupation of study was on the old Skilled Occupation List (this was 2007).

I am now on a Graduate Skilled Work visa 485 which lasts for a mere 18 months. I have secured a very good job in research, but as I work (in a full time-temporary position) for the NSW Government they are not willing to sponsor me to stay.

My skilled occupation (my PhD subject area) has subsequently been removed from the Skilled Occupation List (post July 2010) and, to my knowledge, I have no other way to stay and work in Australia once my current Graduate Skilled Work visa 485 is up!

Please can someone tell me otherwise?

Surely they can’t kick me out when I have made a life over here and was invited in the first place?!

P.S. Currently, I have been in Australia for just over 4 years, and after my 18 months from the skilled graduate visa are finished that makes nearly 6 years in the country

I am female, good health, and 26 years old

I have no dependents or family with me / wanting to move to Australia

I am a British Citizen

No criminal record

Sorry cant give you specific information but would definately suggest contacting a migration agent to give you some advice. As you say having invested in a life in Australia you dont want to have to move so rather pay for a consultation and find out all of your options from the outset. There may be some other visa you could apply for given your particular skills.

Hi, I’ve completed a PhD from a top Australian university. I was invited to Australia with an international scholarship to cover my tuition fees and stipend. For this I was on a student visa, and my occupation of study was on the old Skilled Occupation List (this was 2007).