Is it still worth moving to Oz?

Doc 53

Hi chaps,

My wife and myself are tying ourselves in knots trying to work out if moving to Oz is

still worth it.

I am hoping for guidance from those actually living down under with the knowledge. Will we be able to live on $100 -$120k package in or around (commutable) Brisbane?

We applied for a State Sponsored Permanent Visa, having been already obtained skills assessments, and Queensland state sponsorship. As I am an Electrical Engineer I should go from Cat 3 to Cat 2 when the Queensland SMP is announced.

Basically whilst doing research we have found a lot of people that have moved to Oz and not been able to find work, find the cost of living too much and say they have a poor quality of life. We have also found a lot of information with people saying Oz is economically stuffed, the house market is going to crash, Bris is full of Red necks and are racist, the list goes on.

Easy decision many might say. However whilst doing research we have found many people who have moved to Oz, have no regrets say life is better, the list goes on.

Once we have our visa I hope to get a job in the region of $100 - $120k in Bris CBD. Now in the UK we shop at the market, do not wear branded cloths, drive a 7 year old hatch back. But, and this is the big plus, we can just afford for my wife to stay at home and do the really hard work with our 4 year old girl.

We have looked about on the net and think that we may like to live in Stathpine/Petrie/Redcliff/Deception Bay (subject to change!).

Any help gratefully received.

Guest rebeccaw