Mental health nurse

Lara40

Hi all.

My husband is going for a 482 visa and I’ll be going as his spouse. He is a DR and has a sponsorship. We are hoping to move out to WA next year from the UK and are really excited and grateful to be able to take this opportunity.

I am a mental health nurse and wondered if I will be able to find work once out there on the visa as my husbands spouse? Or does Australia just want people on a 189/PR visa?

The visa will be under him as the main person but I’ll obviously be moving out with him to and will want to work as a nurse. I would hate not to be able to find work. I love my job and trained and worked in UK as a nurse for years now. I can’t see myself wanting to do anything else.

Would it be better for me to try and secure a job before we move? Or should I wait until we see there? Can anyone recommend any mental health nursing job recruitment agencies?

Does anyone have any recommendations whether inpatient work or community mental health is better?

• Like 1

I agree, get yourself sorted with AHPRA first. As a nurse you should be OK to find work as a temporary dependent especially post Covid. You won't have much luck until you're registered though, but after that, you should be OK to pick up something. So the crucial question will be do you meet the AHPRA criteria for registration. 

• Like 2

Thanks everyone. I have just submitted for my APHRA but not heard anything yet. Would you advise moving over there first and looking once I am there?

My husband will have his sponsorship so I could start to apply for work once we are there and settled. What’s peoples thoughts?

• Like 2

Not much point applying if you can't start next week, nobody is going to want to hang around waiting for you - you're already a bit precarious being a dependent on a temporary visa so better to get your AHPRA registration in your hand and your boots on the groundready to start immediately. 

• Like 1