How soon can we get mortgage

snufkin

Hi,

We have been planning a return to Oz for ages and finally looks like it will happen ☺️

We (aus citizen and pr Brit) want to buy a house as soon as possible to get settled in. How soon after starting work can we get a mortgage considering that jobs are most likely to not be permanent to start with. We will have a 50% deposit on the LTV we are looking for. Is it possible to get a mortgage without a permanent position? If not how long do we need to be in a permanent position to get a loan.

Thanks 

• Like 1

I would imagine as a citizen with a 50% deposit you would be able to secure one as soon as you can provide proof of an income decent enough to cover repayments . But i am not an expert so hopefully someone with up to date knowledge will be along soon.

Where in Aus are you heading too?

Cal x

31 minutes ago, calNgary said:

I would imagine as a citizen with a 50% deposit you would be able to secure one as soon as you can provide proof of an income decent enough to cover repayments . But i am not an expert so hopefully someone with up to date knowledge will be along soon.

Where in Aus are you heading too?

Cal x

Tassie, Hobart region... I hope that's the case too but hard to know in these uncertain times if they want a long Australian work record and permanent position of the bat. We're going to stay with family initially and I was hoping to not have to rent but get a mortgage asap and hopefully find a place we like, if the stars align for us. X

• Like 1

On 19/07/2021 at 22:09, snufkin said:

Tassie, Hobart region... I hope that's the case too but hard to know in these uncertain times if they want a long Australian work record and permanent position of the bat. We're going to stay with family initially and I was hoping to not have to rent but get a mortgage asap and hopefully find a place we like, if the stars align for us. X