Professional Engineer & Chartered Financial Analyst moving to Oz

Mad4daSun

Hi there,

We just got granted 189 visas and will be making an activation trip soon from Canada.

I am a Mechanical Engineer with almost a decade in the natural gas pipeline industry in Canada. I already got the CP Eng designation in advance from Engineers Australia.

My Wife is a Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) with 6 years working in portfolio management for pension funds in Canada. Fixed income is her specialty.

If anyone on this forum is hiring or knows companies that are we would be delighted to connect and go into more detail on our skills.

Really looking forward to making the move.

Thanks!

11 hours ago, Mad4daSun said:

Hi there,

We just got granted 189 visas and will be making an activation trip soon from Canada.

I am a Mechanical Engineer with almost a decade in the natural gas pipeline industry in Canada. I already got the CP Eng designation in advance from Engineers Australia.

My Wife is a Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) with 6 years working in portfolio management for pension funds in Canada. Fixed income is her specialty.

If anyone on this forum is hiring or knows companies that are we would be delighted to connect and go into more detail on our skills.

Really looking forward to making the move.

Thanks!

Where are you planning to move to?

A bit like Canada, Australia is a big place.

Your wife will be best served first in Sydney or 2nd Melbourne for work opportunities (very little outside of that, possibly Suncorp in Brisbane).

For you, probably WA or Qld.  You may be able to look at FIFO which pays well but not ideal.

You have some research and decisions to make.

Thanks Marisa and Collie for the advice.

From our prelim research Brisbane would be our first choice, however my wife's not a big fan of high humidity. We would also be looking at buying a house and Sydney / Melbourne seem astronomical for prices.