Visa 189 Eligible skilled occupations

elboras

Hi all,

I am interested in applying for Visa 189. I am confident I can get around 80 points (test pass mark is 65) as I have relevant working experience, PhD, English certification, working experience in Australia under a visa 457, etc.

I am Chemist and I have been checking the Eligible Skilled Occupations for the Visa 189 and my profession is not included for this visa (https://www.homeaffairs.gov.au/trav/work/work/skills-assessment-and-assessing-authorities/skilled-occupations-lists/combined-stsol-mltssl).

Am I eligible to apply for this visa anyway? Would it be rejected?

I worked in Australia under a visa 457 but could not find a sponsor to apply for a permanent visa. I am now living in Spain and I want to secure a permanent residency as I find really hard to find a job that sponsors me.

Thanks in advance

Borja

If your occupation is not on the list then you can’t even apply. You would need to pass a skills assessment before you submit an expression of interest. Maybe speak to a registered agent to see if there are any other closely related occupations that you could work towards.

Either way don’t waste your time or money until you know you have a good chance success and don’t make any false claims as it will damage your chances in the future if the occupation did make it onto the list.

Hi,

Thank you very much for your quick reply. Chemist is on the list, but apparently not demanded for visa 189. When I was working under the 457, I was considered University Tutor by my employer. Unfortunately, this occupation is also excluded for 189. Seeing my profile, would you recommend me other visa to apply to?

Cheers