Can i still hold a British bank Account when im an Oz Resident ??

Guest sunseekers

Guest sunseekers

Hi Guys,

Does anyone know the answer to this ??

The exchange rate is so Poo at the mo and i dont want to lose £££££ by exchanging at the wrong time when we will only be renting initially anyway.. ( Land in Perth Jan 09 )

Im quite happy to have my lump sum earning intrest here and just play the waiting game for the intrest rate to go back up even if that takes years...

But is it poss. Any advice would be great x x x

Guest beermeister

From what I can tell, some banks will and some won't allow you to keep your UK account as a non-resident.

I've had an account with smile.co.uk for years who say that I can keep the account, but I've rang around a few other banks and they all say I would have to close my account as soon as my address changes to being non-resident....kaupthing edge being one of them (pity, because they have one of the best savings rates).

hmm, will have to talk to my bank and is there something about taking large amounts of money into Oz after a certain time of taking up residence?

this is one of my worries about renting for a couple of years, the tax implications when we do move the money over

what is kaupthing edge ??

We still have an account with Halifax back in the UK but they needed a UK address to keep in under so we gave them my in-laws (told them we were going overseas for a couple of years - just incase it didn't work out!). However we transferred most of our money over shortly after we arrived. The exchange rate wasn't great then (although better than it is now) but the interest we could get on it here was much better so we decided this was the better option. Left small amount in UK for emergencies as our daughter is still in UK plus it's handy when coming to sorting our birthday pressies for folks in UK too!!

Lyn x

Guest JoanneHattersley