Visa Rights for Aussie Hubby

rhenny

Hi Everyone..

I have been in Oz for 3 years now and have been granted residency here (wooo!)

I am recently married to my Aus husband and now we are looking into moving back to the UK.

What is the deal with his rights, working etc? Does he get anything automatically being married to me? Or anything beneficial as I'm a resident now?

Confused!!:arghh:

Thanks

I dont think he gets anything automatically as you are married, am sure its a lot harder to take an Aussie spouse back to UK than it is for you to get residency here. Will still need some kind of visa, and I think you have to show you can support him. Check the UK immigration site.

Nope, you may be screwed I fear!

Does he have any UK ancestry? If he has a UK born parent then he may be eligible for citizenship by descent. If not then does he have a UK born grandparent in which case he can apply for an Ancestry visa. If not, then does he have citizenship rights to any other EU country and thus an EU passport?

If none of those then you are either going to have to return ahead of him and find a job earning you £18.5k pa or find a lot of money in your savings account (£62.5k) which are the requirements of a spouse visa.

Hope you can find a solution that doesn't involve the spouse visa!

Yes, unfortunately Quoll is correct, you, as the British Citizen are the one who needs to support your husband on return. But, I believe that it may not mean you having to leave him here, you can go together as long as you have a job offer which is due to begin within 3 months of your arrival in the UK but still earning the 18.5k, or indeed if you happen to have that ridiculous amount 62.k in the pot you don't need a job offer.

They've made it head scratchingly complicated. Even if you are granted a spouse visa you have to apply again in another 2.5 years and your hubby is not entitled to ILR until you have been settled in the UK for 5 years.