Nurse needing help with registration or advice

Lynsey9

Hi

i am new to this site and was wondering if I could pick anyone's brains with the process in which I need to follow in order to move to Australia.

i am a qualified adult nurse and looking to move to Perth. We have 2 children aged 7 and 4 weeks old so need to be able to find a visa to cover us all. I have looked at applying for a visa however can not really afford this route so would want to find sponsorship.

how do I go about this? Do I need to apply direct to the hospital for specific role or apply to Ahpra for my registration first?

I have started the application for registration with Australia and need to get my documents certified and write down my clinical/procedural skills on my Cv!

I think I have got myself rather confused as I am reading posts on here saying that people are completing competent tests etc which i didnt think i had to do if getting sponsored but now am slightly unsure and then also would assume I would have to secure a job prior to applying for registration!

Anyone that has done it this way that could give me a few pointers would be great or anyone that could help would be great as I am very confused on the process.

many thanks Lynsey

Im a nurse currently going through the process. Firstly have your skills assessed by the anmac this takes around 12 to 14 weeks at the minute. Prior to this you need to sit ielts, academic level needing band 7 in all 4 areas. Then ask them to forward to aphra for you, sames time and money also. I will add you can apply to aphra at any time. Even after you apply for visa. Anmac and ielts you will need in order to apply for visa. As for sponsorship you apply direct to state or find employer willing to sponsor. You need to work out which visa you are applying for, do you know yet? Check diac website to check what points you have and options of visa. Hope this helps message me if I can help with anything x