Health worries in Australia.

pob

My wife and I are thinking about the move over to Australia.

I have a worry about the health care system. How does it work?

Is it like England?

Or do you need health insurance? Will health insurance cover pre-existing conditions, unlike American insurance?

What are the costs involved with medicines? Is it like England or do you have to pay for them?

God forbid but what would happen if you...

Broke your arm or even had cancer?

Do poor people have health care or are they left to die like in America and Canada?

Guest Guest66881

Two systems, one you pay into one private, the other a public system (similar to the UK).

Don't worry we have electricity and running water most of the time also :)

Hey,

I am fairly new to this so can only pass on what i have heard.

Apparently they have Medicare - which is like our health service. Or if you have the $$$ you can go private.

I'm sure one of the lovely people on here will confirm soon. x x

In my experience -- Visits to GP cost $70 - you get $35 back from Medicare. Cost of meds can vary but roughly $35 each item.

Pre-existing conditions can be covered by health insurance but there is a waiting period of 12 mths. Medicare may cover costs in a public hospital but if you want to go private you will need health insurance. All Australians are entitled to Medicare. Not all have or need health insurance but things like Optical, Dental and Ambulance cover is recommended.

Hope this helps Jxxxx

Other than dental we have used public for health care and it has been excellent. A GP visit costs about $30 after rebate. Drugs are a mixed bag as some cost less than what I paid for a prescription in the uk.

Had 10 days in hospital with 2 lot of surgery and free and excellent the only difference between public and private was that I could have had a glass of wine in private. But as I was bared alcohol due to the condition this was irrelevant.