Visa options? Melbourne (ps: It's 30 degrees today!)

Guest tonymalony

Guest tonymalony

Hey Guys,

I hope you're all well and thanks in advance for taking the time to read this thread.

My problem: I'm in Melbourne at the moment on a tourist visa with the "no work" restriction. I really love it here and would love the option to work and stick around for a few years. I'm quite an honest person and would only do things in the correct manor.

History: In 2005 I was issued a WHV but as far as I can tell (it's been a long time) I didn't complete enough regional work to get a second WHV. Is there any exceptions made on this (probably not!)

My occupation: Well I'm a trained Sound Engineer to Diploma level and have been working in that business on and off for the last 15 years. I've been self employed and running a successful audio production and DJ service for the last 7 years. I have invoices and contracts for most of my previous work as proof.

The issue: I'm quickly running out of money and really this is that last throw of the dice for me. My budget for visa application (whichever visa is available to me) is about 2000-3000$

Any suggestions how I should proceed further? Which visa do you think would be most suited to me?

Many thanks

Tony.:huh:

Guest tonymalony

Hi Surflen - Many thanks for your response.

Sponsorship..hmmmm - How would I go about getting this?

Do I need to be sponsored by an employer or can I sponsor myself?

I don't know much about all of this.

T.

You'd need to find an employer who was willing to sponsor you. Check out the DIAC website (http://www.immi.gov.au) and it will spell out the requirements. The 457 is probably the fastest option but you are tied to that employer and its only a temporary visa. PR is always preferable but if you have a route to get there, a 457 might help you stay in the short term.

Guest tonymalony