Ielts testing problems

Guest JenniferC

Guest JenniferC

Hi guys,

I am a British journalist working in Australia and am keen to do a story on how many British born and bred people struggle with the IELTS test; the one that gives you extra points to get your visa.

I didn't have to sit it for my permanent residency, but took a look and it didn't seem straight forward or logical at all. I know of plenty of professionals; accountants and even teachers, who have not passed first time.

Have any of you failed or had to sit it more than once? I am convinced it's a poor judge of someone's English ability, especially if Brits have problems with it!

I'd also be keen to interview someone who is well educated who failed who lives in the UK and someone based in Australia.

I'd really appreciate your feedback!

Many thanks,

Jenny

I'd be interested in this myself, I'm not in your target group as I'm Dutch, but have lived in the UK for 9 years. I sat the test for a "just to be sure" reason and found it incredibly easy myself (overall 8.5 score) and very straightforward. My other half is born and bred English and although his grammar is worse then mine, he passed himself with the same score and the only part he found "hard" was the physical writing itself (as in writing with a pen rather then typing on a keyboard).

I've just sat the Academic exam in Sydney. I hope I've passed - will find out in 2 weeks.

The two parts of the test that are academic specific are reading and writing. They are certainly harder than I would have expected for a test of English competence. They seem a to be a test of general academic ability too.

Guest JenniferC

Thanks for your responses so far guys!

I am going to get the statistics off the IELTS HQ and hopefully can find a couple of good case studies through the site in the interim. It strikes me all English people should be able to pass with ease and if people like teachers are failing on occasions, something needs to be fixed.

Jenny