Possible to get an IT job before I arrive in Aus?

mw291073

Hi all,

Sorry if this is a repost, but is landing an IT job before leaving the UK a possibility? Do you know of anyone who has managed this before?

I work in IT Networking, predominantly in Cisco. I have previously applied for jobs via Seek, but received no response. There does seem to be a lot of Cisco networking jobs available in Aus right now.

Would it be worth calling agencies to show my eagerness?

Thanks all :)

Do you already have a visa? Applying to agencies without a visa in place will get you nowhere. Even if you have a visa the agencies will ignore you unless you're actually in Aus. If you're looking for sponsorship you may have better luck approaching potential employers directly.

I am in IT as well in Infrastructure. In my experience, & I am a citizen, agencies don't want to know unless you are actually in the country. If you have a date booked for arrival, I am sure you can arrange a few meetings in advance & get a CV over to them.

Having said that, I am sure you will have no trouble at all getting a job when you land.

Do you already have a visa? Applying to agencies without a visa in place will get you nowhere. Even if you have a visa the agencies will ignore you unless you're actually in Aus. If you're looking for sponsorship you may have better luck approaching potential employers directly.

I'm sorry, I should have said that I have an NZ passport, so visa's not a problem.

I am in IT as well in Infrastructure. In my experience, & I am a citizen, agencies don't want to know unless you are actually in the country. If you have a date booked for arrival, I am sure you can arrange a few meetings in advance & get a CV over to them.

Having said that, I am sure you will have no trouble at all getting a job when you land.

That sounds encouraging - My preference is to work in Sydney or Melbourne.