White ants/termites -dangerous?

oldgit

Hi folks

We are looking at buying a house over here in Oz. Today we looked at a lovely house that has numerous tall trees in the back garden and also backs onto bushland. My only concern is that up in these trees there are what appear to be nests, which the estate agent 'brushed off' saying they were just white ants and not a problem.

On the way home from viewing the property my 11 year old daughter informed me that white ants are also called termites.

As I am a Carpenter and I have seen the devastation that termites cause, I am concerned about these so-called white ants. Does anybody know if these white ants/termites in trees are a problem if in your back garden? As I am unsure whether or not to put an offer in on this property.

Cheers

The oldgit

Termites are common in various parts of Australia. The question is whether they have got to the house or not. If you are keen on the property, I would recommend that you get a comprehensive termite check (compliant to Australian Standard AS 4349.3 )and make your offer on the property 'subject to a termite inspection satisfactory to the Purchaser'. That way if there is some very minor damage found to the house, you could perhaps offer a lesser amount ie. it gives you negotiation room on the price, and get the damage removed/replaced etc. (However not all damage will be that easily located or fixed).

You might be interested to note that if a house is termite infested, banks will often refuse to lend money for their purchase.