Painter/Decorator, Melbourne, ABN card. Help!!!

Guest Eddy Munsen

Guest Eddy Munsen

Hi there people. Ill keep this as short as poss.

Me and the missus just waiting on nursing registration and visa, shouldnt be too long at all now, hopefully be there within the next month.

Im a time served painter and decorator and Ive just completed my white card online. The thing im trying to understand about is this ABN (Australian business number). Most painter vacancies i see online require ABN card and own transport. Is it not common to work for a company? from what i gather this ABN looks like being 'self employed'. If there any other tradesmen or anyone with any tips/advice on this it would be much appreciated.

Guest andymags

hey Eddie,

I'm also a painter,I went over to oz in june, i managed to secure myself a job with an employer , on the books, if you want to go down the subbie route you have to have an abn and also you own tools and transport,ie self employment. I decided thet i didn't want the hassle of self employment as ive had my own business here in the uk for nearly 10 years, IM now waiting on ens121 visa with my future employer sponsoring me, Hope this is of help, andy

Guest Eddy Munsen

Hi Andy. Cheers for that :)

I agree i ve done the self employment thing here, would much prefer the employment alternative.

Would u say its still a decent alternative to work for someone out there then?

Im noticing alot of people dont show much interest yet, and from what i gather its best once your out there finding a job. Is that about right?

:)

Guest Eddy Munsen

Hi all. Its all falling in place, I am aware of needing a TFN (Tax file number), and then ABN (Australian business number), to become a legit tradesman, (time served painter & decorator).

I have been time served since 1998 and I became a full time mature student from 2006-2009 but have been in and out in my trade since graduating July 2009.