Just got engaged: Defacto or prospective marriage visa?!

Guest joelle

Hi,

I'm new to PIO, but have been looking everywhere to try and get this question answered (I think I might as well go insane!)

First a bit about our situation; My partner and I were all set to apply for the defacto visa (He's Australia, I'm from the UK) we started going out in August, Moved in together in October at a Pub we were working at - we have letter of confirmation from the boss but we weren't paying rent as he was Deputy Manager and got free accomodation as a priviledge, se up joint bank accounts in Dec and booked our flights together to fly to Oz in Feb, we spent 10 days in Thailant holidaying and then moved over. For the first 5 months we rented a room from his brother (I've got rent receipts from a rent book as evidence), his brother bought a property in July and since then we have taken over the lease (Joint names). We have a joint bank account here in oz.

So as evidence I have;

• A photobook from Sept 2008 - Nov 2009 (90 photos)
  • Letters from my mum and friends
  • Emails from Friends and grandmother
  • cards from friends and family (Joint leaving cards, birthday cards, thank-you cards, easter cards)
  • Joint wedding/engaement invitations
  • Statements from friends and family (both UK and Oz)
  • Our rent agreement and receipts
  • Health check & Police check
  • FLight tickets to thailand, oz and then on hols to airlie beach
  • Receipts from accomodation when we have had weekends away
  • Bank Statements
  • Statutory declarations (Form 888)
  • 47sp and 40sp
  • I'm trying to get back dated phone bills..

I can't believe how stressful it is! To make matters worse we've just got engaged (and although we were initially thrilled we didn't realise the implications of this on our application)