I came to Oz and it didnt work because......................

Guest JoanneHattersley

Guest JoanneHattersley

For those immigrants whose journey didnt work out the way they wanted!

Tell your story...............

• Replies 135
  • Created
  • Last Reply

OK I'll bite

Come Thursday I will have been here 30 years + 2 months. At first it was great, brilliant, wonderful, exciting, the weather was fantastic, the people were friendly, the shopping was fine, it was a huge adventure, a nice long holiday. I studied here (not impressed with the quality after Uni London but you cant have everything) and got a job which kept me occupied for a good 25 years until I quit because it became a toxic cesspool. I had loads of friends over the years but they were itinerant and we all moved on as our lives moved on either literally or metaphorically. I've travelled widely - missed the north of WA but not too sad about that really. My kids grew up here - wasnt really impressed with the standard of education then and I saw what was on offer close up so we struggled to send them to private school. One son had a good time as a swimmer and the other enjoyed his rowing. Both went to uni here but both were less than impressed by the lack of rigor and the group assessments etc. One son bought a one way ticket to UK part way through uni but didnt like it and came back 7 months later and now lives a self sufficient life in the bush with his family. The other son went to UK for a gap year - 7 years ago and hasnt come back because he has had a great career opportunity and is loving his life there. He likes the buzz whereas the other was more reclusive.