Move from UK to NSW

Morning all!

Just after some stories from people who have moved from the UK to NSW (With children in tow!)

We are at the point of starting our visa process and suddenly it all feels very real (and terrifying!) I know this is very premature!

I have a good job and a nice house, we are very secure in the UK… but fell in love with Australia while backpacking and can’t seem to get past wanting to live over there. 

We had hoped to move to Perth which is a bit of a comfort blanket for us. We spent a lot of time there previously and have lots of friends currently living there.

However, my profession is not on the list for WA.

Just would like to know how any families have got on with the move to NSW :)

Don't go to Sydney.   Don't get me wrong, there are many lovely places in Sydney, but housing is TWICE the price of almost everywhere else in the country.   It means you're likely to have a much lesser quality of life there, because either your money will all be tied up in your home, or you'll be squashed into a cramped little apartment.  House prices are affected for a wide area around Sydney, just like house prices on the South Coast of England are mad because of London.  People commute from the Central Coast to the North and from as far as Wollongong to the south. 

If you want city life, then Newcastle is the next biggest city and about half the price for housing. Great beaches too.  I have friends who live there who say it's a great place to bring up children.  It used to be a rough working-class town but it has transformed over the last 30 years or so.  

Lake Macquarie is another option, smaller but close enough to amenities.

I seem to recall you are a teacher.  Armidale, which is inland but close to Coffs Harbour for the beaches, is a good place for teachers because it has two large private schools as well as state schools, and the university as well.  You'll be surrounded by academics!